Apple Pie!

It might seem like it’s not a big deal – but it is. I have made my very first apple pie. In Denmark people like pear pies a lot. Everybody has had pear pie and sour cream much more than once in their life. But apple pie is not so common. Actually most people I know have never even tasted it.

Challenge accepted! I have got to bake it! And so began hours and hours of research to find the perfect recipe. I looked for weeks around Pinterest, Youtube and all my favourite blogs. I didn’t find one recipe that I trusted a hundred percent so I made my own.

That was a great decision and I have never gotten so much praise on anything I’ve baked. In my opinion it turned out perfect. But then again – it was my first apple pie ever so I don’t really know, do I?

apple pie

Here is a Printable PDF for you with the recipe!
Recipe for the pie crust 

400 g all-purpose flour
4 tsp powdered sugar
1 tsp salt
250 g margarine
10 tbsp ice-cold water

Making a pastry dough:

Make this dough in two batches in a food processor.

1. Combine 200 g flour, 2 tsp powdered sugar, ½ tsp salt and 125 g cold margarine in the food processor and mix until in it all mixed in. It should look like small breadcrumbs.
2. With the food processor on, add the water one tbsp at a time. After about 4 or 5 tbsp it will come together as a dough. Stop the food processor when this happens and wrap the dough ball in plastic wrap.

A tip is to make this pastry a little more wet than we are usually told. It is much easier to deal with and I like the difference in texture it gives.
Refrigerate for the time it takes you to make the pie filling.

Important: Do it all over again so you have a bottom and a top for your pie.

Recipe for the pie filling

8 apples
1 tbsp lemon juice
3/4 cup sugar (Brown, muscovado and white mixed)
1 tsp cinnamon
½ tsp salt
3 tbsp maize/corn starch
1 egg for eggwash

Making a great pie filling and a beautiful pie!

…is much easier than you might think.

1. Peel your apples. For lazy or really health-minded people – this step can be skipped.
2. Cut them in quaters and remove the core and stem.
3. Cut each boat into 3 slices. (2 for small apples)
4. Place the apples in a big bowl and add the lemon juice (Yes, the easy kind in a plastic container) and mixed it, so it covers the whole thing.
5. Now add the sugar, salt and cinnamon and mix and mix and mix until every apple is covered.
6. Get your dough from the refrigerator and flour a clean surface.
7. Roll out the first dough – big enough for your pie dish + 1 inch. Mine is 24 cm (9,5 inch) in diameter.
8. Place your dough in the dish and press it down and prick it with a fork all over.
9. Mix the corn starch in with the apples.
10. Add the apples to the pie dish – along with the juices.
11. Roll out the second dough. Big enough to cover your apples and about 1 inch extra.
12. Cover your apples and tighten the two doughs together.
13. Make sure to cut out airholes and eggwash the lid.

Bake in a 200° C or 400° F oven for about 45 minutes or until the apples are tender.

Extra stuff for pie making.

I heard on several occasions that you should use different kinds of apples in a traditional apple pie. Some says 3 kinds. Some have preferences on what types of apples are best in pies. I’ll admit this: I don’t know anything about apples and I don’t care. I took 3 apples from the garden of my in-laws. They where almost wine-red and not to sweet. Then I bought 2 green apples and 2 different kinds of red apples.

That is a total of 7 apples and 4 different kinds. I say you shouldn’t worry to much about the apples. For future baking I’m gonna use 4-5 different kinds and at least 8 apples in my pies.

Now, let’s talk about sugar. I always have trouble with american recipes because the brown sugar Americans use doesn’t look like the brown sugar we use. But then I found some new sugar that was supposed to be like american brown sugar. In my opinion it wasn’t. That means I ended up using ½ cup of white sugar and the rest was a mix of the two kinds of brown sugar I had. I would suggest using a mix of the sugars you have on hand – go for 2-3 different kinds and use equal parts of each.

About the darkness of the crust: Make a round foil device to cover your pie crust if it starts to turn to dark in the oven.

I made my pie the day before I served it, and stored it in a plastic bag on the counter. Then, when I wanted to serve it, I reheated it in the oven for 20 minutes at 175°C or 375°F. The day after that, I took the leftovers with me to work and served it cold. That was still great. I’m sure everyone else says to make this earlier the same day – but who has time for that? I’m sure this could even be frozen – I mean – why wouldn’t it freeze?

2 thoughts on “Apple Pie!

  1. Pingback: 1st time ever: American Thanksgiving | Malenes Recipes

Leave a Reply

