Cauliflower pizza!

Soo, I can’t be the only one who loves pizza? Or the only one who noticed that the Internet loves cauliflower.

That means one thing. I had to try making cauliflower pizza. And I had to try making people eat it too!

I looked around the internet for good recipes. But, very soon I turned totally cheap. They all needed Parmagiano Regiano or some weird kind of LCHF grain that cost a fortune. So I looked in my kitchen and worked with what was available to me.

It turned out great – but I did discover some subjects of destruction. I’ll tell you about it at the end!
Just note this! IT MAKES A HUGE MESS! Now, don’t tell me I didn’t warn you.

image

Here is a Printable PDF with the recipe – so you can try this for yourself!

The ingredients to make 1 pizza:

1 cauliflower or one bag frozen
3 eggs
2 tbsp wheat- or oat bran
1 tbsp oil
1 tsp salt
0.5-1 tsp pepper
1.5 tsp dried oregano

Remember to buy tomato, cheese and toppings as well.

Now we need this to turn into dough:

1. Chop up the cauliflower in a foodprocessor, or by hand on a boxgrater if you are very very patient.
2. Drain the grated cauliflower in a clean kitchen towel until there is no fluids left. This step is optional, and it saves you a lot of time to skip, but it gives you a more pizza-like dough to do it.
3. Mix the cauliflower and all the ingredients in a large bowl.
4. Spread the dough on a baking tray with parchment paper in a thin layer. I like to go thin. 1 cm (half an inch) is my preference.
5. Bake the dough in the oven for 40 minutes at 200° C/400°F convection oven or what we call “hot air oven”.
6. Once the dough has browned up beautifully it’s time to top it and then bake until the toppings are cooked or the cheese is melted.

Pizza is served!

The topping-mania begins:

When it comes to choosing toppings there is a world of difference. As you can see, a lot can be done here. Both healthy, super healthy and soul food style! It’s all really up to you!

I make my own tomato sauce just so I know what is in it and avoiding all the added sugar and E-numbers. Then I like using beef-mozzarella or grated mozzarella – a low fat version. My friend tried cottage cheese instead and loved it!

image

How to store: 

We tried a lot of stuff. We made the dough, covered it in wrap, and kept it refrigerated over night. It didn’t kill us and it worked like a charm.

We also rolled the dough out and cooked it and then stored it in the oven over night. That didn’t kill us either, but it wasn’t a pleasure. The dough became soggy and it tasted a lot more like cauliflower than we intended. Don’t try that.

We refrigerated the leftover pizza in a plastic-bag. Then reheated it on a plate in the micro for 90 seconds. That didn’t kill us – and it was delicious for lunch.

Leave a Reply

