Green Bean Casserole

I have decided that waiting a whole year to taste the green bean casserole again is simply too long! I have a recipe in my Thanksgiving post, that was very nice. But it wasn’t perfect so I decided tonight was the night to adjust that!

I like beans and I am trying my best to like mushrooms too. You know – it’s not that I hate mushrooms, I just HATE the consistency of it. It is rubbery and ydrk. I am left with my mouth blaming me for torturing it and my mouth doesn’t deserve that. But I really really don’t want to be a picky eater and honestly I really like the taste of mushrooms.

But then what do I do? Well, I just chop the mushrooms up into tiny pieces – and it totally works. You can see what I mean in the step by step pictures below. And that is all the complaining I’m gonna give you about mushrooms for now. Any other mushroom haters out there?

Green_Bean_Casserole

Now, I have made some alterations, and I would say that this tastes better than the last time, so this is gonna be my official “Green Bean Casserole”-recipe. And I hope it is obvious that if you should be the one person to love big pieces of mushrooms in your food, then please, by all means, don’t chop them into atoms like I do!
I have made a PDF so you can bring the recipe to your kitchen!

Ingredients:

Topping:
1½ onions
2 tbsp breadcrumbs (15 grams)
1/4 cup flour (35 grams)
1 tsp salt

Sauce:
2 ½ onion
1 tsp white vine vinegar
1 kg  frozen green beans (2 pounds)
520 g canned mushrooms (1 pound)
50 g butter
½ tbsp salt
1/4 tsp pepper
½ tsp dried Thyme
5 cloves of minced garlic
1/4 tsp ground nutmeg
5 tbsp flour (50 g)
2 cups chicken broth (2 cubes)
2 cups 1,5% milk

Instructions:

1. Drain the mushrooms and beans very well.
2. Peel the onions and slice them in half. Slice them in the lengthwise direction in thin slices.
3. Place 1½ onion in a bowl along with flour, breadcrumbs and salt. Mix together so all the onions are covered. Spread out on a baking sheet and bake for 40 minutes at 220°C/400°F, tossing every 10 minutes. Don’t burn them!

4. The other 2½ onion you fry in a pan in 20 grams of butter until they are caramelized and then add the vinegar.

5. Melt the rest of the butter in a pan over medium heat and add the mushrooms.
6. Add 1 tsp salt to the mushrooms and cook for 15 minutes.
7. Add garlic, nutmeg and thyme and cook two more minutes.
8. Sprinkle the flour over the mushrooms and cook until the mixture looks all dry with no visible flour. 1 minute approximately.
9. Add the broth and the milk and reduce heat to maintain a good simmer.
10. Let simmer until the sauce have thickened up, abut 7 minutes.
11. Add pepper and maybe more salt -I didn’t need more.
12. Mix in the caramelized onions and the beans.
13. Spread in a baking dish and top with the oven baked onions.

This can be kept in the refrigerator until dinner time with no problem. Then 20 minutes before dinner is ready you just put it in the oven. It will be done when you see it bubbling. For this reason it is clever to use a see-through oven dish.

At what temperature you ask? Well, I just heat it at the temperature the rest of the stuff needs since this is a very forgiving dish – but around 200/400 will be fine.

How decadent might this be?

I did the math for you! If you follow my recipe exactly you will end up at 84 kcal pr 100 grams. I wouldn’t call that to decadent – would you? That is just around the same calories as plain boiled potatoes. I am planning on eating 300 grams tonight since it is both my starch and my veggies. And then we are gonna eat a grilled chicken on the side – since it is Thursday.  Cause every day is good food day!

And for the mushrooms – they weren’t all bad 🙂

3 thoughts on “Green Bean Casserole

  1. Pingback: 1st time ever: American Thanksgiving – Malenes Recipes

  2. Pingback: What I eat in a day! – Malenes Recipes

  3. Pingback: Meatball № 3 – Greek Style! – Malenes Recipes

Leave a Reply

