Aloo Mattar

So I found this blog on wordpress that I really like. It is called Kamals Korner. It is really not a food blog in particular – maybe more of a lifestyle blog. But I stumbled upon this one recipe that looked so good I was ready to make it instantly.

And so I did! I am sitting here waiting for my meal to finish cooking, and I found the recipe last night. That is the fastest I’ve ever changed my dinner plans! But hey – what can i do? I really like Indian food!

This recipe is called Aloo Mattar I guess. I really don’t know and I really can’t tell if it’s in anyway authentic. But it smells very nice in all my kitchen, I will tell you that!

Now, I have changed the recipe up a bit, because I didn’t have the ingredients I needed and I wanted a much bigger portion. But here is my take on it:

First I’ll give you a PDF if you want to print the recipe!

Ingredients:
1 tbsp olive oil
1 tsp cumin
15 fennelseeds
2 onion (185 g)
4 cloves of garlic (18 g)
1 tsp of ginger (5 g)
4 tomatoes (360 g)
2 tbsp tomato puree (50 g)
600 grams potatoes
240 grams carrots
½ tsp chilipowder
2 tsp graham masala
½ tsp turmeric
1¼ cup water
1 tbsp salt
320 grams peas
4 grams fresh coriander leaves

Instructions:

  1. Dice the onion and the tomatoes. Peel and dice the carrots and potatoes. Mash the ginger and the garlic.
  2. Get a pan on medium-high and add the olive oil, when hot, add the cumin and fennel. Let this fry for 1 minute while stirring.
  3. Add the onion and fry while stirring for 5 minutes. Reduce the heat to medium.
  4. Add the garlic and ginger and stir around for 2 minutes.
  5. Add the tomatoes and puree. Stir for 3 minutes or until it reduces just a little.
  6. Now add the carrots, potatoes, chilipowder, graham masala and turmeric and stir around until everything is covered in tomato.
  7. Add the water, start with 1 cup for now and add the salt as well. Now cover with the lid and let it cook for 20 minutes or until the potatoes are tender, giving it a stir once every now and then.
  8. If it starts to burn you add the rest of the water. When the potatoes are halfway done you add the peas.
  9. When the potatoes are tender and the water har evaporated this is ready to serve. Just add the coriander right before you turn of the heat, and mix them in.

We ate this dish in a bowl as is, but I have read that it is a sidedish so maybe someday we will make it as a side to something else – who knows?

Calories:

This dish doesn’t contain anything unhealthy really. It is vegetarian, maybe even vegan – I don’t know. But I know it doesn’t have a lot of calories in it. My version added up to the very likable 82 kcal pr 100 grams. For my dinner a portion of 350 grams was a serving – without anything on the side. That meant that I had the very favorable calorie count of only 287 kcal for my entire dinner. A meal that often ends up in 400-500 calories in this household. For that reason and the very nice taste, this will defiantly be on the menu again soon.

And I will have to thank Kamal for the incredible recipe. Well maybe I have to thank India – I don’t know! But thanks anyway! And should you be interested I’ll give you the original recipe here!

5 thoughts on “Aloo Mattar

  1. Pingback: What I eat in a day! – Malenes Recipes

Leave a Reply

