Waldorf Salad – a Christmas Sidedish

Waldorf Salad is an Iconic Christmas Sidedish in Denmark. It is by far the least healthy “salad” I’ve ever loved. But that’s just it! I love it! This is by far my favorite Christmas Sidedish. It is sweet and goes perfect with all the duck and gravy and everything. I guess it’s like the Candied Yams for Americans?

Waldorf Salad

Ingredients:

1½ C Celeriac
1½ C Cabbage or Chinese Celery
1½ C Apple
1½ C Grapes
1/4 cup Walnuts

Dressing:
1,5 cup Cremefraiche 18 %
2 tbsp Lemon juice
1 tsp Vanilla sugar
1 tsp Sugar
½ tsp Salt

Waldorf Salad

Instructions:

  1. Celeriac should be peeled, washed and grated.
  2. Cabbage should be cleaned, dried and sliced into thin pieces
  3. Apples should be washed and diced
  4. Grapes should be cleaned and halfed, and possible stones should be removed
  5. Walnuts should be chopped into about quater pieces
  6. The dressing should be mixed
  7. Then combine everything and decorate with half walnuts and grapes

Ingredients for Waldorf Salad

The Danish Christmas Table

Now follow along this picture below. We will start from the top, as I will tell you everything that belongs on my family’s Christmas Dinner table. And I will say that this is about as traditional as it gets! So from the top: Sugarcoated small potatoes, large pickled cucumber, french potato chips, redcurrant jelly, halved apples with redcurrant jelly, whole oven roasted duck, brown gravy, waldorf salad and ordinary boiled potatoes.

Christmas Table

Let me walk you through the rough draft of these recipes, just so you will understand a little more about Danish food culture.

The sugarcoated small potatos are so good. Me and my husband rarely makes them, cause they are very decadent. But when we do, we eat all of them – no matter how many we make. And the good thing is the recipe is super simple. You just take some drained glass potatoes, some margarine and some sugar.  Just let the sugar melt in the pan without stirring it. When it is fluid you add the margarine. When the margarine is melted, you add the potatoes and they turn all brown and caramelized.

The halved apples with jelly are super simple. The apples are boiled in water with sugar and vanilla. When they are cooled they can be filled with the jam and served.

The last thing on my list is the brown gravy – I am not particular lucky in the field of gravy-making, but I have one foolproof recipe that I always use. And yes, I know this is not with duck driplings – but I don’t know how to do that so it tastes well. Sorry. But the real foolproof gravy is here in my Thanksgiving post.

3 thoughts on “Waldorf Salad – a Christmas Sidedish

  1. I have always loved Waldorf salad. I thought its origins were from the Waldorf-Astoria Hotel in New York. It interesting that it is a Danish staple – I learn something new every day! 🙂 This recipe looks much better than the one I have so thanks, I will try it someday soon! Do you think I could replace the Creme Fraiche with full-fat coconut milk or coconut cream? My husband is intolerant to all dairy so I use alternatives in everything I make.

    Like

  2. Hey Lydia.

    You are absolutely right about the origins of the dish. It is not a Danish recipe – but it has become very traditional here in Denmark – I actually don’t think most people in Denmark know it’s American 🙂

    In our family we are no fans of the original recipe since everyone seems to hate celery so we love this recipe and the experience is very close to the original salad.

    About the coconutmilk I would have doubts about the taste – but in your household you would be used to the coconut flavor, so I would totally give it a try. Cremefraiche is sour though, so some adjustments in the seasoning could be needed – like maybe a little less sugar, so it isn’t all to sweet. But you could always do the original mayo version to avoid the dairy – I am just a mayo-hater.. Shh.. Don’t tell anyone 🙂

    Thanks for your comment. Please let me know if you try it out!

    Like

  3. Pingback: Brownies! Testing recipes part one! – Malenes Recipes

Leave a Reply

