Meatball № 2: Ground Chicken!

Now it’s time again. It’s time for another recipe with ground meats. I just love it when any kind of meat has been cut up into bits. It’s like – everything tastes amazing when you don’t really know if its heads or tails!

Yeah – I know it sounds rather unsettling, but it’s true. And for that reason, and the fact that apparently we should cut down on red meats, I decided to experiment with chicken patties. I already uploaded a recipe for the very old fashioned pork-patties that is almost the national dish here in Denmark.

The ground principle of this recipe is completely the same as the pork-patties. But because I find chicken to be that much more bland in flavor I decided to add a good amount of dried basil. I guess one could leave that out or experiment with different kinds of seasonings. But I won’t – for now.

Ingredients for chicken pattiesIngredients (For 1,5 kg patties)

1200 g ground chicken (3-6%) (2,6 pounds)
185 g skim milk (6,5 oz)
3 eggs
2 big onions
4 cloves of Garlic
3 dl oats (Soaked in water) (1,25 cups)
9 tsp dried basil (6 if you are no fan of basil)
1,5 tbsp salt
1 tsp pepper

Instructions: 

Make this in a bowl or, if you are as lazy as I am, in your KitchenAid with a dough hook!

1. Put your onions and garlic in the foodprocessor and mix it up real good.
2. Combine ALL the ingredients in you preferred bowl and mix it up good.
3. If you have time, let rest for up to 2 hours in fridge.
4. Get a pan to medium heat and use some oil to fry these patties.

This recipe calls for 157 kcal pr 100 grams.

I choose to make my patties not to big. I like it with a lot of crust so I make a 40 gram pattie and push it down on the pan, so it flattens a little.

2 thoughts on “Meatball № 2: Ground Chicken!

  1. Pingback: Meatball № 4 – American Style – Malenes Recipes

  2. Pingback: Meatball № 3 – Greek Style! – Malenes Recipes

Leave a Reply

