Meatball № 3 – Greek Style!

And yes I know we have had our share of meatballs on this blog already but I can’t seem to get enough of this. Pork, Chicken or Beef, you name it, I’ll eat it! Yes, I will! And I know I am going to get known for my meatballs someday! That’s my true life goal! And to get a little closer to that goal we are doing Greek style today!

These meatballs are so delicious. We had them at a party on spears with mushrooms and squash – I didn’t like that to much! But then I reinvented it with mashed potatoes and gravy – and that was very nice! And later on, I talked with one of my friends who suggested eating them with Tzaziki, Salad and Oven Roasted Potatoes – a little more authentic one might say!

Greek Meatballs

Ingredients for 50 meatballs:

1 kg ground beef (2 pounds)
2 eggs
2 onions
3 cloves garlic
150 g flour (1 cup (Or breadcrumbs))
2 dl milk (¾ cup)
200 g feta (1 cup)
1 glass sundried tomatoes (175 g)
1 tbsp salt
½ tsp pepper
1 tsp dried basil
1 tsp dried oregano

Instructions:

  1. Dice the onion and garlic (preferably in the foodprocessor for very fine dicing)
  2. Mix beef, eggs, onions, garlic, flour, milk, salt, peper, basil and oregano in a standmixer and mix together with douhhooks
  3. Foodprocess the sundried tomatoes a little
  4. Crumble the feta a bit in your hands
  5. Add feta and sundried tomatoes and mix everything together
  6. Let rest until needed, then scoop on a lined baking tray that is sprayed with oil
  7. Bake at 225°C/425°F convection oven for 30 minutes, turning them after 15 minutes and with the broiler on for the last 5 minutes

I will tell you this: These meatballs adds up to 211 calories pr 100 grams. I have not tried to reduce calories in this recipe, but I have a bunch of suggestions for calorie reduced meatballs. Next time I will use some extra meat for the meatloaf without adding up the other ingredients, about 1200 grams I think is suitable. I will consider using a 0,1% milk to safe a little calories there as well. I have not looked into the fat percentage of Feta cheese, but that would be an obvious place to cut a great amount of calories. An obvious healthifier would be using oats or wholewheat flour – even though it doesn’t change the calorie count.

So these are my ideas for this precious meal. Truth be told, this is so good, I am not busy changing this recipe for the healthier yet, cause it is so darn good!

But one change I did make, that turned out ABSOLUTELY AMAZING was in one very lazy moment when I decided balls was to much work and I made a Meatloaf instead and baked it for about 1 hour! Wow! I will never have the trouble of shaping balls with this one again! It is made for a Loaf!! And to be really naughty I served it totally unauthentic with Green Bean Casserole. Oh so yum! Try it!

One thought on “Meatball № 3 – Greek Style!

  1. Pingback: Quiche № 01: Leek & Ham – Malenes Recipes

Leave a Reply

