Quiche № 01: Leek & Ham

I like Quiche! You know I like Meatballs – you know I like Smoothies – but one thing your’e about to know is that I like Quiche! At this moment I have 5 different Quiches prepared for my blog! So yeah! This is the beginning of yet another adventure in numbers! And I hope you will read this with the same enthusiasm as I am writing it!

The beginning of this adventure is cheap and simple. I made 5 different quiches one day, you know, your average procrastination, right? A lot of the quiches were rather expensive and experimental or just decadent and delicious. But this one – it is as down to earth as an average man from West-Jutland – and that is very down to earth, I will have you know!

Now the recipe is for a small baking dish and not a traditional quiche-dish, so it will be necessary to adjust this for your own preferred quiche-baking equipment.

Quiche with leek and ham

I have a PDF with the recipe right here for you to print!

Ingredients:

1 portion of quiche dough!
3 leeks
1 pack ham strips (approx. 200 grams)
6 eggs
1¼ cup milk (300 ml)
1 tbsp thyme
1 beef mozzarella
1 tsp salt
½ tsp pepper

Instructions:

Leek and Ham Quiche

  1. Cut leeks into rings and wash them in cold water.
  2. In a hot pan, you cook the leeks until they have softened up and given up on some of the water. I went for around 10 minutes.
  3. Mix the ham and leeks and place in your preferred quiche-dish.
    1. If you want your quiche to have a crust, like mine, I have a recipe for that here, but you could just leave it out and use parchment paper instead.
  4. Slice the mozzarella thinly and devide evenly on top of the filling
  5. Mix the eggs, milk, thyme, salt and pepper in a bowl until it is a uniform mixture.
  6. Pour the egg-mixture on top of the filling.
  7. Bake for about 40 minutes at 200°C/400°F
  8. To check if it is done stick a knife in the middle, it should be firm and not wet.

Leek and Ham

Serve as is, and devour. A salad on the side works like the perfect dinner.

Leave a Reply

