Quiche № 3: Taco-style

I really like Tortillas. I don’t know what that means to you – but in Denmark “Tortillas” (pronounced with hard “L’s”) is a Tortilla Pancake filled with taco-seasoned ground beef, salad, salsa, dressing, guacamole and shredded mozzarella. Yes, it is very similar to the filling of a Taco shell. That is the kind of Tortilla that has won the hearts here in Denmark for sure. I’ll do a recipe for you some time, cause they are so good!

But for now I’m still doing my Quiche-mania so it’s on to a Tortilla style Quiche. But to make everyone associate with the right filling, I present: The Taco Quiche! The Taco Quiche is impossible to find online, but it’s not super common. For my recipe I will brag and say I found no inspiration online – I made this one all in my own head. So that makes me particularly proud.

I made a PDF with this recipe – so you can print it and make it!

Ingredients for a big Quiche (About 8 people)

1¼ Dough!

500 g ground Beef (1 pound)
1 Taco Seasoning
285 g Corn Kernels
400 g canned Tomatoes (14 oz)
½ diced Green Bell Pepper
2 Beef Mozarella
6 Eggs
1 cup Milk
1 tsp Salt
½ tsp pepper
1 tsp Chili Flakes

Instructions:

1. Have a Dough ready in your fridge.
2. Fry the meat in a pan with the taco seasoning.
3. Whisk the eggs, milk, salt, pepper and chili flakes in a bowl.

4. Roll out your dough and put it in a large dish – remember to prick with a fork on the bottom.
5. Now layer this in the following order:

  1. A third of the TOMATO
  2. Half the MEAT
  3. Half the CORN KERNELS
  4. All the BELL PEPPER
  5. A third of the MOZZARELLA
  6. A third of the TOMATO
  7. Half the MEAT
  8. Half the CORN KERNELS
  9. The remaining MOZZARELLA

6. With all the layers perfectly together you pour over the egg mixture and finish of with dollops of the remaining tomato.

If these steps are confusing – just see the picture right below. It’s very easy!

This is kind of a large Quiche and it should bake for 1 hour and 10 minutes at around 400°F in the oven.

Serving this Quiche calls for such creativity! My personal favorite is always a salad and some homemade Guacamole! And when I say homemade it is just barely homemade, it’s just avocado mixed with salt, pepper, garlic powder, chili powder, ground cumin and ground coriander – and a splash of lemon juice. But it’s so good. You should try it – really!

Leave a Reply

