BIRTHDAY SPECIAL! Repost: Danish classics: Swedish sausage dish! A Family Recipe!

Okay, this is called “Pineapple in own juice” in Denmark – it means what I’m about to write is a teeny tiny bit self-centered, and I’m not supposed to be doing this.. But HOORAY!!! Yesterday, StarWars Day, was my 25th Birthday! Aren’t birthdays amazing?? I think they are the best! I know – I’m not supposed to really care anymore, I’m supposed to grow up and just have moderate fun. But I don’t care. For me this is a big deal. This is a quater of a freaking century. Wow! It’s magnificent, it’s wonderful, it’s… kinda old.. Oh, don’t even go there – stay in the happy place! It AWESOME!! Tell me, how do you feel about Birthdays? When did you stop caring that much? When did you start feeling old?? Or are you just as much of a child as me??

Well – since I love my birthday so much I decided to repost my birthday meal – Swedish Sausage Dish! I had this for my Birthday from age 3 through 14 – and it was awesome! This year I traded it for Pulled Pork and Coleslaw burgers – all of which was store bought and ready-made. Yeah, mamma ain’t cooking for me no more – but Husband made pancakes for dessert – with Nutella. Wow. I see why I love my birthday. Because I love the food 🙂 What food do you get on your Birthday?

So, here you have the old post – actually one of the very first posts on my blog – my present to you. And it’s totally fine that you didn’t get me anything 😉

This is all me - but it's okay . it's my Birthday :p
This is all me – but it’s okay. It’s my Birthday :p

Oct. 25, 2015: So, I’m Danish. That has not been shown too much on the blog so far. But that’s about to change. Once a week we have an “old classics” night where my husband gets to choose a classic meal for dinner. This is to prevent him from hating all my kitchen experiments. This is one of those classics, and we  always keep a box or 4 in our freezer, just in case.

This one is truly a original recipe. In danish it’s called “Swedish Sausage Dish”. I don’t even know if it’s Swedish or anything, but the recipe I’m using is from my mother, and it’s impossible to find this recipe anywhere on the internet – beside the one I have uploaded. All the other “original” recipes calls for heavy cream and tomato puree and potatoes. this family recipe calls for whole milk, canned tomatoes and spaghetti! And then I did some healthifying with some oven baked potatoes and skimmed milk.

This recipe was my favorite meal when I was a kid. It was my regular birthday meal and I loved it! And it is so very simple and child friendly – you won’t believe it!

Swedish sausage dish

If you would like to give this recipe a try, I have a Printable PDF for you here!

Ingredients and amounts to serve 4 people this wonderful dish:

6 red hotdog sausages
1 chopped onion
2 tbsp flour
50 grams margarine
1 can tomatoes (400 grams or 14 oz)
2.5 dl skimmed milk (1 cup)
2 tsp paprika
1 tbsp salt
1 tsp Pepper

Takes a little more than 1 hour to make – no matter if you are making it for 4 or 16 people.

Step by step for this to become dinner:

1. Cut the sausages in 1-2 cm slices.
2. Fry them in a pan on medium heat until they are golden. Remove them from the pan.
3. Fry the onions on the same pan until they are translucent and soft. Remove them from the pan as well.
4. In the same pan or a big pot, melt the margarine and add the flour to form a roux. Let it cook for 3 minutes.
5. Pour in all of the milk and stir until lump-free and thick. This takes up to 15 minutes for a big batch.
6. Then add the tomatoes and bring it all to a boil while mixing it together.
7. Let it lightly boil for 10 minutes under a lid.
8. Add the paprika, salt and pepper.
9. Add the sausages and onions and stir.
10. Taste for seasoning. If too spicy: Add more milk.

How to serve this childhood favorite:

Originally this serves with spaghetti. No veggies, no nothing. Just spaghetti. I can tell you those days are over.

Now we serve with whole wheat spaghetti on a bad day. On a good day we make oven roasted potatoes or hash browns. It tastes delicious, but it’s more work than the spaghetti.

As for veggies, this is a tough one. I believed, as a child, that no vegetables would fit this dish. That was obviously a big fat lie. So, once again, there is an easy way: Peas. A buck-load of frozen peas. They can be added in the sauce for the last 10 minutes of boiling or served hot on the side.

If you have one of those nights with time for potatoes and everything, a nice salad fits too! It could be a salad with cabbage and carrots e.g. Some will say, that a classic iceberg is simply to soft and easygoing for this dish. But whatever is in your fridge will work, and to be honest, I think a simple iceberg witch carrots, cucumber and a bit of dressing goes with anything!

Simple and delicious salad
This was the salad I served with my Swedish Sausage Dish!

More amazingness of this dish: 

This dish freezes perfectly! Make a truckload of it! Like, go find your biggest pot – like a 10 l or 3 gallon pot – and just make a 6 times portion.

Then, on those, oh so busy busy, weeknights you are already ahead of shedule. Freeze the sauce in the portions you need, for feeding your family and then, in the morning, place it in the refrigerator to unfreeze. Just add a little water to the bottom of the pot and reheat it on medium. It couldn’t be any easier!

Well, it could. The microwave can reheat this if you really need fast food for one. The sausages doesn’t love the method, but in a hurry, it will get you full in 2 minutes. Just warm the unfrozen sauce in a microwave bowl that can be covered. I am a fan of Sistema, and uses this 900 ml bowl.

If I have got you hooked with my pictures but you prefer a danish version,I give you “Svensk Pølseret

One thought on “BIRTHDAY SPECIAL! Repost: Danish classics: Swedish sausage dish! A Family Recipe!

  1. Pingback: Roasted Chickpeas and Budget Friendly Salad! | Malenes Recipes

Leave a Reply

