Quiche № 5: Chicken & Broccoli

Yes – I know! I’t getting old with all these Quiches – but I seriously love Quiche. And as of right now, I will honestly tell you, this is not the last one. It’s the second last one.. And you just start getting exited for the next one already – cause it’s a vegetarian one!

These last couple of weeks has been absolutely crazy. I am working on my Bachelor thesis that is due at the end of this month – that’s a killer, and it’s causing me to try out no new recipes these days. It sucks, so I’m so exited to be done, and get back to cooking. But what should my next kitchen experiment be? I’m gonna try something German. I know, seems weird but it’s gonna be fun. But I’m on the look for more experiments and I would love suggestions from all of your lovely blogs – and if I try out your recipe I’m loyal enough to backlink 😉

This particular quiche is the first one I ever made – just altered a little through time. I mean, how can you go wrong with bacon and chicken..? 

I’ve started making these awesome PDF recipes for you to print!

Ingredients:
7 oz. diced bacon
1 cup diced potatoes
2 cups frozen broccoli
7 oz. chicken breasts
4 tbsp. cottage cheese

1 cup milk
6 eggs
1 tsp. salt
½ tsp. pepper.

1 crust (optional)

Instructions:
1. Get a pan on medium high. Fry the bacon until dry, and place on a paper towel.
2. Fry the potato in the bacon fat for 7 minutes. Remove from pan.
3. Fry the broccoli for 5 minutes in the pan. Remove from the pan.
4. Cut the chicken into bite size pieces, add a little oil to the pan and set the heat on high; fry the chicken for 3 minutes.
5. Whisk together milk, eggs, salt and pepper.
6. Line a pie plate with parchment paper or a crust and add all the fillings, top with dabs of cottage cheese and pour the egg mixture over.
7. Bake at 400°F for 45 minutes. Finish with 5 minutes under the broiler

I will tell you that this quiche goes particularly well crustless. It just works – and you save like 1200 calories. I know, it’s not technically a quiche if there is no crust – but who cares. I don’t. On a normal Monday I’ll rather eat half a giant crustless quiche than a pitiful minimal 1/16 slice. I want it all 😀

Leave a Reply

