Quiche no 6: Veggies!

I have to admit one thing about this Quiche. The design was not something I came up with – I have been wondering around Pinterest, and I’ve found a lot of recipes I would love to test. And this concept was actually one of them.

I am always very skeptical with this picture perfect foods, cause I have been disappointed again and again. They look so pretty but taste no good. But this one was more than decent. And the ingredients was so simple – and very interchangeable I guess.

And in my own opinion I have made quite the masterpiece this time. Compared to most of my food this is an aesthetic wonder of the world – and much easier than I thought it would be!

DSC03456

Ingredients for 1 quiche
¼ eggplant
¼ zucchini
1 carrots
½ potato
¼ sweet potato

1 tbsp. dijon mustard
1 crust
3 eggs
½ cup milk
½ tsp salt
pinch of pepper
Sprinkle of dried Thyme

Instructions:
This is very easy and it can be told in a nice collage!

If you do not get what is happening – I will kindly explain it to you.

First – you get your crust in your pie plate as usually – with the fork prick and all that.

Second – you spread a thin layer – between 1 and 2 tablespoons of dijon mustard over the bottom of the crust

Third – you take a peeler and make long strips of all the vegetables.

Fourth – start with carrot since it’s easy to roll. Form a spiral mixing all the vegetables. Once you have formed a little circle you place it in the middle of the plate and just continue adding more and more vegetable strips – round and round – until you make it to the end and the circle is complete.

Fifth – you mix eggs, milk, salt and pepper together. Mix it with the dijon spoon so nothing is wasted. And pout the mixture over the vegetables. Unlike other quiches this should be thouroughly poured into the gaps between the vegetables, and it takes a while

Sixth – spray with a little oil and drizzle with thyme.

Seventh – now this quiche just needs to bake. Get the oven to 400°F/200°C and bake for a good 45 minutes maybe 55. Just look out that the vegetables doesn’t start to burn.


If you do like me, and slice whole vegetables, you will have enough for almost 3 quiches with 1 eggplant, 1 potato, 1 sweet potato, 2 carrots and a zucchini.

But there is another way to spend the leftovers: I just cubed all the leftovers and drizzled them with olive oil and a little salt and baked them in the oven next to the quiche. That was some delicious ovenroasted veggies!

One thought on “Quiche no 6: Veggies!

Leave a Reply

