Rice Taffel – Vegan

I have decided to try virtually any recipe vegan style. I’m not gonna address myself as anything more than a conscious eater. But I do think the most conscious choice is vegan – if you don’t care about taste or that stuff. So i’m gonna se which recipes work vegan style and which recipes doesn’t.

And I’m going to start out testing my long time beloved Rice Taffel. It is normally eaten with Chicken, Turkey or Pork – but I’m gonna try potatoes and chickpeas instead. That seems like a good place to start. To be true to my purpose I have just copied my old recipe and then changed the non vegan products. Because that is the true test – right? It has got to be just as easy as it used to be – and then vegan.Vegan Rice Taffel

Ingredients:
500 g potatoes
1 big onion or 2 small ones
oil (optional)
2 tsp salt
2 tsp curry powder
500 ml water (2 cups)
2 dl rice milk (0,85 cup)
150 g chickpeas (5 oz)
A little pepper
Cornstarch mixed in water to thicken the sauce
100 g Bamboo Shoots (3 oz)
150 g Baby Corn (5 oz)
100 g Water Chestnuts (3 oz)

Instructions:
1. Dice the onion and cut the potatoes into preferred bite-size pieces.
2. In a high heat pan you add a little oil or water and fry up your potatoes.
3. When they are just a little brown you add the diced onions and the curry, salt and pepper and let this cook for an additional 5-7 minutes, stirring occasionally.
4. Cover it all in water and let simmer until the potatoes are tender under a lid, stirring a few times only.
5. Whilst this simmering is going on you have plenty of work cut out for you:

Boil some rice.

Prepare the toppings: Bell pepper, cucumber, apple, onion, pineapples, banana, peanuts, raisins, blackcurrant jam, and soy sauce.

Set the table, so every topping is diced up and ready in a bowl with a spoon.

Feel free (or cheap) to leave some of the toppings out. My favorite is banana so please don’t skip that one.

Open the cans and rinse the chickpeas, babycorn, water chestnut and bamboo shoots.

6. When the potatoes are just about done add ½ cup milk and bring to a boil. Thicken with the cornstarch mix.
7. When it has the preferred thickness add bamboo shoots, chickpeas, water chestnuts and baby corn, and taste for seasoning – add more milk if the sauce is to spicy. We felt like it needed a tsp more salt than the recipe calls for.
8. Now it is ready to serve!

And to be honest – the foodstyling is just for you guys. This is how the food actually looks. Rice first, then sauce, and then just an overwhelming amount of great toppings. I personally love topping it all with a few dollops of blackcurrant jam – it seems absurd but my dad taught it to me when I was just a little girl – and it kind of just stuck to me! 

By the way: This was just as good as the version with meat. I know the pictures show bean sprouts. You could add those in, but my husband an I agreed very much that next time they are not going in this sauce. So you have been warned!

One thought on “Rice Taffel – Vegan

  1. Pingback: Just an Opinion

Leave a comment